Aside from Africa, what are some memorable guided hunts around the world that rival the experience of an African Safari?

I know you said guided, but I did a DIY caribou hunt out of Kotzebue where we got dropped off in the foothills of the Brooks Mtns. It was a pretty magical 7 days of hunting. The scenery was gorgeous, saw grizz every day, moose, musk ox, dall sheep up high…but no caribou. Still one of my most memorable hunts. Glassing on a knoll, munching on blueberries while your glassing a grizz doing the same thing 500 yards away is not a bad way to pass the time.

Stone’s sheep in 2003. The most beautiful NA sheep in my opinion.
1674595288982blob.jpeg

Got a great ram on the 13th day of a 14-day hunt. Sun, rain, snow, good horses, and great guide.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have not been to Africa yet (headed there next June!) And I have never hunted outside the US. I have never had a guided hunt either. But I’ve had some great experiences. I’ve done Aoudad sheep in far west Texas, various exotics in the Texas hill country, coastal black bear/ halibut fishing in Alaska, elk in the Rockies, coues deer in the desert, pronghorn on the plains of Wyoming, whitetails in the hardwoods, mule deer in the sage brush and countless pigs, predators, and small game and birds.

The one hunt I do without question every year is an annual cull hunt in the Texas hill country. Me and a couple buddies go to the same ranch and shoot every pig we see, some Aoudad ewes or broken horned rams, feral goats, axis does, and any other cull animal that the ranch knows about. We stay in a comfortable house and leave with as many ice chests as we can fit in the truck full of meat.