Lee Factory Crimp Die for .470 NE

Wahoo

AH veteran
Reaction score
Hi all. Just sharing info in case it’s helpful. Likely redundant for many of you guys. I just ordered a Lee Factory Crimp die for my .470. Lee Precision was very nice and helpful.

My process thus far-
1- Call Lee Precision. Ask to order custom crimp die.
2- they create the order, charge your card and request you send a dummy round ( no powder/primer). I loaded an A-frame into case to depth/COAL I wanted and mailed to them in bubble mailer USPS. (shockingly they received it 48 hrs later and I wasn’t tackled in post office for shipping bombs etc)
3-I now wait 6-8 weeks although they stated likely shorter.

Important info I learned-
1-.470 is considered a “large” format due by Lee. What does this mean? It will have a 1 1/4 - 12 thread. This is important as it fits a Lee press. I do not have a Lee press. I have an RCBS Ammomaster II. My press can accommodate 7/8-14 threaded dies with bushing inserted or 1 1/2-12 threaded dies with bushing removed. Solution? Lee sells a bushing adapter to reduce 1 1/2-12 to the 1 1/4-12 thread so die will work with out buying new press.
2- .470 Custom Lee Factory Crimp Die is more expensive than standard Lee Factory Crimp Dies.

Price as of today -
Die- $125
Bushing adapter- $12
Shipping (WI to northwest IL- $11.50
Credit card convenience fee-$5.20
Grand total - $153.70

Good info and man oh man have the prices gone up. I had a 404 Jeffery FCD made about 5 years ago and I seem to recall it was about $45 or $50.

Interestingly ( and I’m sure this is supply and demand at work and as usual I chose the hard way) other large crimp dies like .50 BMG are half ish this price.

Although in my novice opinion this seems a relatively low percentage of my sunk costs in entering the world of double rifles and money well spent