How long you can keep guns in SA?

Doubleplay

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Hunted
RSA, Namibia, Zim, Argentina, Uruguay, Turkey, Ireland, England,Czech Republic, Hungary, Bulgaria, Canada and all over US
Does anybody know if you can leave the guns with your PH or in a safe spot and then come back to hunt say after 6-8 months?
Or you have take them out with you when you leave?
I received very contradictory answers and I'm wondering..
What if you leave the country by land border?

I would assume that your permit to bring a gun into SA has an expiry date. Your PH would be in possession of an unlicensed firearm in your absence.

Having just filled out an SAPS 520 for the first time, I'm no expert. But it seemed like with the way they had me put the dates in on that form it was only valid for the time I would be in SA for my hunt. It was dated for the day I arrived and the day I flew out.

Interesting question. My brother just told me of his neighbor who traveled to Zim last June / July on his first trip to Africa to hunt Cape Buffalo. He left his rifle there in Zim (with the PH?, with the Safari Operator?, dunno) with the intent to return this May / June to hunt Hippo.

Whatever rifle paperwork was used I hope he added some time cushion for the return trip.

I would assume that your permit to bring a gun into SA has an expiry date. Your PH would be in possession of an unlicensed firearm in your absence.
Yes there's an expiry date but how far forward it can be ?
What if you are hunting with the same PH second time in 6 months?

It seems I read somewhere, but haven't found the information again. I think was when I was researching information on purchasing property or length a person could stay in RSA without a VISA.

Anyways, seems citizens of the US, Canada, and UK or Europe aren't required to get a VISA and may stay in RSA for a maximum of 90 days.