Standard Length or Magnum Action, which camp are you in?

Standard Length or Magnum Action, which camp are you in?

• Standard Length

Votes: 7 18.9%
  • Magnum Length

Votes: 30 81.1%

• Total voters

Northern Shooter

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
Do you have a preference for one way or the other?

375H&H or 375 Ruger?

416 Rigby vs R16 Ruger?

458 Lott vs 458 WinMag?

505 Gibbs vs 500 Jeffery?

Do you prefer the lower pressures and raw horsepower of the magnum length cartridges? or the utility and lower cost of standard length cartridges/rifles?

Magnum definitely, much more classy, it's what the cartridges were originally designed for: voluminous cases. So yes, 375H&H, 416 Rigby, 458 Lott.

On the 505 Gibbs vs 500 Jeffery I have not so much of an opinion, as I have no experience with either.

I don't quite understand the question.

There is an optimal system for each of these cartridges. For some, an standard length action is absolutely appropriate, for the others, a magnum action should be used if possible. There is no really a choice between actions with these cartridges, except maybe for the cartridges 375 H&H Magnum and 458 Lott. Otherwise you have to make various compromises when modifying standard length actions, which do not always represent an optimal solution.

This means, among other things, that a cartridge 416 Rigby or a cartridge 500 Jeffery is suitable for a magnum system in all cases, even if there were various compromises with standard systems, compromises that no one should make anymore and anyway no gunmakers longer mastered nowadays. The cartridge 505 Gibbs only fits in magnum actions anyway, sometimes even longer than usual.

Magnum definitely, much more classy, it's what the cartridges were originally designed for: voluminous cases. So yes, 375H&H, 416 Rigby, 458 Lott.

On the 505 Gibbs vs 500 Jeffery I have not so much of an opinion, as I have no experience with either.

I know both cartridges.