500 Nitro Express 3.25” - newbie question

krusin

Reaction score
I’m new to double rifles. Just bought 500 NE with 3.25” chamber. So, I have a newbie question:
Can I shoot 3” ammo in a case I loose luggage or run out of 3 1/4 ammunition on safari?

Yes you can fire it but will it regulate is the question, depends what country you may loose your baggage in but not many will have a solution of .500NE ammo.

If you test it just make sure to clean the chambers well so you get no build up of carbon or crud that hampers loading the normal 3 1/4in .

I shot .500NE 3in in my .500NE 3 1/4in chambered rifle but that was a single shot.

Most .500NE doubles are 3in the 3 1/4 being a hold over from the BP period .

What is yours, can you show us ?

Thank you for your reply. It has a Butch Searcy action. See pictures below. I am good at reloading, but all my experience is with much smaller cartridges. The largest in my arsenal up until now was the 338 Lapua Magnum. I have a lot of Varget and Retumbo left from the good old days. Would I be able to use it for this gun? I'm reading about wads and fillers for these big cartridges. Should I use them if the case is not completely full?
image8.jpeg
image2.jpeg
image5.jpeg

I’m new to double rifles. Just bought 500 NE with 3.25” chamber. So, I have a newbie question:
Can I shoot 3” ammo in a case I loose luggage or run out of 3 1/4 ammunition on safari?

You can, in the long there could be theoretically slight damage to the end of the chamber, but not sure. As for the loss of ammunition, this is extremely rare and if, I also doubt that you can find in a short time 500 Nitro Express cartridges in an African Country.