AR LPVO's on BGR's?

cash_tx

Gold supporter
AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Articles
This is more of a curiosity rather than a serious question, but is there any reason you couldn't use a decent quality LPVO scope for the AR platform on a big game rifle? I was just sitting here wondering how my Vortex Strike Eagle 1-8x24 might fare on my Whitworth Express 375H&H. I'm curious to hear your thoughts and experiences.

Aren't many of the tacticool scopes for ARs often fitted with funny reticles and turrets? I have no experience with Vortex, so that is maybe not applicable.

For ordinary hunting, I personally prefer the German #4 reticle, and capped turrets. As few bells and whistles as possible. Sight in an inch or 2 high at 100, depending on cartridge/load - and it should be good out to 200.

This is more of a curiosity rather than a serious question, but is there any reason you couldn't use a decent quality LPVO scope for the AR platform on a big game rifle? I was just sitting here wondering how my Vortex Strike Eagle 1-8x24 might fare on my Whitworth Express 375H&H. I'm curious to hear your thoughts and experiences.

I had a strike eagle on my 375 when I first purchased it for a while.. I already owned it, and it was sitting in the safe not being used, so I mounted it until I had an opportunity to find the scope I really wanted so I could start shooting the rifle and get used to it..

The strike eagle can handle the recoil, no problem…

Eye relief is a bit short for my taste.. and the horseshoe reticle that makes it really nice for cqb isn’t really optimum for hunting either PG or DG in my opinion..

But you could make it work if necessary..