hoguer

AH senior member
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Hunted
Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tajikistan, Argentina, Spain, New Zealand
The one paragraph summary of my hunt with Chris Vosloo and Vos & Co Safaris for those not wanting to go through the entire hunt report:

Both my girlfriend and I had an extremely enjoyable trip with Chris on hunts in the Kalahari for plains game on a 45,000-acre property, as well as a lion and plains game hunt near Ganyesa on a 7,000-acre property. Chris was extremely responsive, engaging and most importantly professional. If you are considering a hunt with Vos and Co, I would recommend him without hesitation.

https://www.vosandco.com/

To start, here are some of the details.

The Hunter
Im a 34-year-old firefighter who has been lucky enough to say this is my 3rd trip to Africa on hunting safari. I have hunted Namibia and Zimbabwe in prior years, and this is my first hunt in South Africa. This trip I brought my 29-year-old girlfriend as an observer and she ended up taking her very first game animal on the hunt. She is well traveled and had joined me on a hunt in Spain earlier in the year for red stag.

The Rifle
The rifle I brought along with me was my Dakota Arms M76 Safari Grade in .416 Rigby, sporting a Swarovski Z8i in 1-8 and a Vos & Co sling.
The rifle was fed with my own hand loads, a potent mix of Norma brass and 110gr of H4831SC that sends a Woodleigh Bullets 340gr Weldcore down range at a nice and even 2700fps. A soft core bullet was specifically requested by Chris for my lion hunt and performed flawlessly on my lion.

The Route
Being a California native, our trip began in San Francisco with Qatar Air flight QR783 that departed at 1600 on May the 10th and arrived in Doha at 1740 on the 11th.