Progressive press

Jamie D Van Roekel

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
I’ve been reloading for around 35 years. Always used a single stage press. With cost and availability of ammo now I was thinking I would step it up a bit.

Is a progressive press accurate enough to load hunting cal. Ex. 30-06, 270, 308, etc.

If so what would be a good press to do this with?

Dillon Precision makes the best progressive presses IMHO. It’s plenty repeatable enough for plinking or whitetail hunting loads. My buddy uses his for 223 and 9mm mostly, but 308 when he feels lazy. I only have a MEC Grabber for shotgun loads, but that’s also the only thing I have components for.

Edit: the 1050 is on super backorder but you *may* be able to find a used one

Last edited:
The Dillons are accurate enough for loading hunting rifle cartridge ammo. The only thing you’ll find is that the powder measure doesn’t meter extruded powder all that well. If there’s a short stick or ball powder that matches your loading preferences you’re golden.

Dillon Precision makes the best progressive presses IMHO. It’s plenty repeatable enough for plinking or whitetail hunting loads. My buddy uses his for 223 and 9mm mostly, but 308 when he feels lazy. I only have a MEC Grabber for shotgun loads, but that’s also the only thing I have components for.

Edit: the 1050 is on super backorder but you *may* be able to find a used one
I had a progressive and the damn thing got to throwing a charge and a half to doubles. I got some of those loads mixed in with some others in a class and seized up the receiver. Couldn't get the bolt open with a hammer. Ruined the receiver. When I got home I pulled all the bullets and 60 out of 100 were way over max. I called the company and all the response I got was, "That was a pretty heavy load." No offer to stand by their "lifetime warranty". Since then I use only a single stage and weigh every charge. May take a little longer but I know what I'm getting.