New Holland double

ianthompson

Reaction score
Hi I was fortunate to aquire an 1897 H&H 450/400 3 1/4 nitro express very reasonable cost. (2800) I am fairly new to double rifles so need to develop a load and plan on trying reloader 15 with 280 cast bullets (it was the closest I could find). I know I should get Graeme Wrights book but haven't found an affordable copy. I will try to use his cordite conversion and foam backer rod.
I was also able to get 20 pieces of Hornady so should be ready to start working un a load.

The rifle is regulated for 40 grains cordite and a 270 grain bullet.

The questions I have are if it is common to loose or damage firearms on a trip to Africa (I have never hunted outside wisconsin and would rather have to restock my 416 98 action than the H&H) how big of game can I take with this combination in africa and can you use hand loads abroad if the headstamp is for the correct cartridge?

Thanks.

Congrats on your new double rifle. Would love to see some picture.

Now on to your questions:
firearms getting lost, or damaged during travel, does happen. But not at a rate that everyone who travels to Africa with a firearm will experience this. Insurance is also a thing.
With a 450/400, with the correct bullets, you can take any and all game on this planet. Up to and including brain shots on elephant.
Correct, head stamp's need to match what is on the rifle (although i have no one take a look at the headstamp yet. Usually they just look at the outside of the factory box and count the number of rounds inside.

Hi I was fortunate to aquire an 1897 H&H 450/400 3 1/4 nitro express very reasonable cost. (2800) I am fairly new to double rifles so need to develop a load and plan on trying reloader 15 with 280 cast bullets (it was the closest I could find). I know I should get Graeme Wrights book but haven't found an affordable copy. I will try to use his cordite conversion and foam backer rod.