My Bucket List Problem

dgtlclose

Reaction score
We just did New Zealand, see my intro. Now Africa is next on my Bucket List for 2025 and I have a Big Problem. Yup, my wife's sister just returned from Safari with Elewana in Kenya and well she's convinced that our hunting trip needs to first include a repeat of the sisters trip.

So, as I still work for a living and vacation time leaves me around 10 days in say Tanzania, Zambia or Mozambique without spending more flight time. Thus, from the research I've done so far I've leaning towards north Mozambique maybe because I think its going to be a better value, but I'm just guessing on that.

I like the feel of Mozambique type of country, wild and remote. New Zealand will be the last time I hunt a fenced type of landscape - that was a bit more shopping than hunting and not so much for me.

Game - top of my list is a Monster Sable, other Plans (Buffalo, if I see one I really like, and of course I will like one).

Any Problem Solvers, willing to offer up suggestions on how to do a pampered Safari and Quality Hunt in less than 20 days?

Steve

Last edited:
Zambia and Mozambique will offer you the best option for a shorter safari and chance at Sable accounting for cost. Tanzania will be the costliest and if you want some of the unique endemic species you’ll need a 21 Day Premium License.

@spike.t can likely hook you up on a sable in Zambia at his Takeri Reserve.

Last edited:
Another good option might be Namibia. @Velo Dog took a monster sable with @KHOMAS HIGHLAND HUNTING SAFARIS in Namibia recently.
You can connect flights from Windhoek to Nairobi through Joberg which should make that reasonably easy….

Last edited:
We just did New Zealand, see my intro. Now Africa is next on my Bucket List for 2025 and I have a Big Problem. Yup, my wife's sister just returned from Safari with Elewana in Kenya and well she's convinced that our hunting trip needs to first include a repeat of the sisters trip.