Looking for a solid bullet for my .458 Lott

DaveL

AH senior member
Reaction score
Media
I am a professional hunter in Zimbabwe and Mozambique, and the Woodleigh round nosed solid and the Swift A frame have been my bullets of choice for years (I have also recently started using North Forks, pretty stoked with them too) However, as most of us know, the Woodleigh factory is now unfortunately no more. My question to you aficionados is this - what "PH carry" round is a suitable plan B until (if ever?) Woodleigh is back up and running? Currently I am running 500 grainers in my 458 Lott. in a CZ 550 (my CZ 550 does not like flat nosed meplats - and whilst we are at it, someone explain that to me!)

If you're reloading, the peregrine brass solids are fantastic, but they're rather flat nosed.

Trophy bonded Sledgehammers have a smaller flat meplat s then others. I have been using them since the 90s in two different Lotts with no feed issues. One is a Brno 602.
Federal did get into some fragmentation issues for awhile but I understand it has been addressed. They are lead core so makes for a shorter bullet that does not cause excessive powder compression.

Trophy bonded Sledgehammers have a smaller flat meplat s then others. I have been using them since the 90s in two different Lotts with no feed issues. One is a Brno 602.
Federal did get into some fragmentation issues for awhile but I understand it has been addressed. They are lead core so makes for a shorter bullet that does not cause excessive powder compression.
Yes that Sledge hammer is a marvelous bullet as well!

The hornaday DGS has a similar round nose with a very small meplat.
I hope that the woodleigh factory can be rebuilt by someone and get back to producing good bullets.

...my CZ 550 does not like flat nosed meplats - and whilst we are at it, someone explain that to me!...
It is due to hitting the ramp. My gunsmith always makes sure the CEB solids feed in my rifles. It sometimes takes a bit of work.