Hi from SCI

Rick Parsons

AH member
Reaction score
Member of
Safari Club International, NRA
Hi folks,

I joined this site a couple of days ago, commenting on a thread dealing with SCI's recent decision on captive-bred lion hunting. I am the CEO of SCI (Safari Club International - for those who may not know us).

I was excited about the reaction to my post and the kind of discussion that goes on here -- even the negative comments.

I tried to post another comment and got stopped cold by a message that said that I was violating some kind of forum rules with my comment. I'm a lawyer by trade so I know about rules, and I was flummoxed. So if it continues I'll get with the forum owner or moderator to figure out what I'm doing wrong. If anyone can help out on that , please jump in.

I have been with SCI since 1985. I was a contractor who served as their governmental affairs counsel. In 1997, I came on board as an employee and ran SCI's governmental affairs office in Washington, DC. I tried to retire in 2008 but that didn't work. I was hired back as a contractor and then at the end of 2016 I was hired as the CEO.

I have a degree in International Law and I worked for the US Government for about 15 years after law school. I helped to write the CITES treaty and then ran the US Government office in the Fish and Wildlife Service that implemented CITES for the US. Essentially I was the chief permit-issuer. I left government in 1983 and started with SCI in 1985. I hold the distinction of being the only person still involved in CITES that has attended every CITES meeting since the original negotiating conference in Washington. Of course that only means that I wasn't dumb enough to step in front of a bus all that time.