Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Australia/NZ
Hunted
South Africa, New Zealand, USA, Canada,
I was wondering how durable a giraffe rug would be on the floor. If giraffe hides stand-up to moderate traffic for 20 years, then I will do a rug.

If they will not hold up then I will make a couple chairs with buffalo cushions and bags/gun cases with the left-over hide. I have a new trophy room and am trying to decide what to do with a giraffe hide. I have read the thread on different ideas for giraffe.

What is your experience with the durability of giraffe hide rugs?

I have no experience but I've heard giraffe bone is great for knife scales.

I got t4 leg bones shipped from this trip and I have 2 leg bones from previous trip. I want to make knife and pistol grips with them. Don't know where to get done.

Giraffe bone is indeed wonderful for knife scales.. I have used giraffe bone on a couple of knives I built in the past.. Ive also used camel bone.. It stinks to high hell when grinding and shaping it.. but it makes for a beautiful end product..

I got t4 leg bones shipped from this trip and I have 2 leg bones from previous trip. I want to make knife and pistol grips with them. Don't know where to get done.

I know a few custom knife makers that would likely make you something very nice using your giraffe bone.. they do custom "commission" type knives.. one guy in particular does what I would consider "art" quality work.. he is a little expensive.. not who I'd use if I wanted a knife that I was going to actually use to do hard work with (although his steel work and designs are absolutely incredible and would certainly do anything you ask of a blade.. I get a little twitch when I think about using a $500-$2000 blade to baton through a log or even whittle on wood with..).

Happy to put you in touch with a few guys if youre interested..

Giraffe rug is incredibly tough. Don’t let that concern you

The hide will be tough, but the hair?....