Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Australia/NZ
Member of
SCI, NRA
Hunted
SA, NZ, Montana, Maryland , Georgia , Mississippi, USA
Looking for your advice on the best cold weather thermos.
When I hunt here in Montana I like a thermos of coffee in my Polaris ranger for before and after my hunting . Who makes the best thermos for hot coffee at lunch in 25 degree weather ?

Yeti. The 20 Oz one (without the double pour screw off top) works well for me in MN and MT.
If you wrap it in your extra clothing in your pack, even better.

I have been using Stanly Aladdin thermoses for over 50 years and they do just find along with being indestructible.

The secrete to keeping your coffee hot is to fill the thermos with boiling hot water and let it sit for a while. Then poor that water out just before you fill it with coffee. Filling it with that hot water warms up the insulation and metal so that when you put your coffee in it doesn't have to do all the warming and loose heat.

I have been using the same Stanley thermos for over 40 years and can highly recommend it. I bought it when I was flying helicopters in Alaska in very cold temperatures and the thing is absolutely bullet proof. If you preheat it with boiling water before you fill it with coffee it will keep it hot for a long time. I once left it partially filled in the truck overnight in zero range temps and the coffee was still hot the next morning.

When I hunt here in Montana I like a thermos of coffee in my Polaris ranger for before and after my hunting . Who makes the best thermos for hot coffee at lunch in 25 degree weather ?
I’m No expert on hunting, rifles, or shotguns - but I KNOW Thermos’.
If all you want is a thermos that keeps stuff hot for 3-4 hours while sitting in your car then “most will work”. If you want a Thermos that you can fill the night before and have steaming hot coffee at sunrise - read on.