Barrel break-in and maintenance

Elton

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Ask 10 different people and get 10 different answers. But I want to know what the members thoughts are on barrel break in and cleaning.

Growing up it was a no brainer. If you bought a new rifle you had to break in te barrel, and after every use ir hunting trip you had to clean your rifle. And if not used then still once a year you had to wipe down and re-oil it.

However i keep seeing that modern mentality is almost the exact opposite? Don't break in your barrel and dont clean until accuracy starts dwindling? Otherwise you damage your barrel.

What to believe?

I’m no pro on the subject but I have followed a simple procedure on my new barrels if anything to give me piece of mind! So the theory is to clean out any tooling marks or burs or whatever left after a mass production process. It’s really simple actually. You firstly clean the barrel to remove all shop oils (or you run the risk of bulging the barrel). I then run a patch with hand cleaner containing grit a few times to remove any residual metal. Clean with a new patch and shoot a shot. Repeat shooting twice before cleaning etc up to 5 shots and your done. After this clean with Copper solvent as per your usual way. I like iosso- Makes barrel nice and shiny!

Check also here:

For hunting rifle, irrelevant.
For match rifle, arguable in both ways.

I do a sort of break in.
As soon the new rifle arrive at home, I clean it very well : usually the rifle has been previously shot some times in the factory, and then again for the proof marks. Also, and more important, during the process of rifling, the barrel is lubricated with grease to help the process of rifling, so in a new barrel (if not lapped) there is a mix of grease, dirt, fouling and so.
I remove all that with a good cleaning session.