Gastinne Renette info?

wvfred

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hunted
Zimbabwe x 2 and Zambia
I recently traded for a shotgun that I would like to find more information on like date of manufacture and anything else that someone can tell me.It is a Gastinne Renette 10 gauge hammer gun and seem of very high quality.Any information would be greatly appreciated.
-6017963111050845463.jpg
2575446050103096193 (1).jpg
-9034729483890882857.jpg
-6212750794703054533.jpg
20240503_105224.jpg
20240503_105309.jpg

It has 31 1/2" barrels that I would think are Damascus but have been blued.

It is a beautiful shotgun,the LEG proof I think is Belgium.The NON POUR BALLE is (not for ball) The rest I can't find anywhere.

I am not an expert...

Are there more proofs under the chambers? I'm not seeing a smokeless proof so I'm guessing it's proved for black powder. The K with a star is for inspector Delsaux Walthere who worked as an inspector from 1929 to 1968. But that's where it seems odd because in 1924 Belgium began marking guns with the gauge and chamber length in an omega symbol on the barrel flats. Also, I would think the lettres annales (date of proof) would be stamped on the barrel flat or receiver if it was inspected by Monsieur Walthere after 1929. Is there no other proof marks on the gun? Its possible the K with a star was for an earlier inspector prior to 1924 that I do not have records for. The "non pour balle" stopped being used a little before or around 1900. Stunning hammer gun either way... The real experts in these things are on the double gun forum. Good luck in your search!

No other proof marks that I can find......Thank you for the information.